Presentation Sisters

Presentation Sisters


  • Sr Terry and children planting at the Garden of Oneness in Zambia
  • Sr Shalini marching for the poor and marginalised in New Delhi, India
  • Sr Teresa helping a patient in a local hospital in Nuneaton, England

Ireland - North East Province

Sr Bríd O’Donnell teaching children through play in Scoil Bhríde, Shantalla, Co Galway


Ireland’s North East Unit is home to just under 350 Sisters across 35 communities that cover 13 counties of Ireland and 11 dioceses.

Sr Gertrude and associate delivering a ten week course
‘Making Better Choices For Happiness’ in Dungarvan

Sisters from Ireland’s North East Unit echo the life of Nano Nagle by working in a broad range of ministries, spirituality and animation projects that are vital to assisting those on the margins of society and those seeking meaning from life.

Some of the projects that the Province supports include the iScoil project that facilitates a return to education for vulnerable young people.



Presentation students and teachers gather together at a Challenge
to Change Seminar in Kilkenny

The North East also hosts a Challenge to Change educational awareness programme each year for Irish Presentation schools.

The North East Province is a fairly new Province and was formed when the South East Province and the Northern Province in Ireland merged in 2015 to form a single Province.  

These two Provinces were originally formed in 1976, following a number of Presentation Congregations coming together to form the Union of Sisters of the Presentation of the Blessed Virgin Mary. Prior to that in the years following the beginning of the Congregation in Cork on Christmas Eve in 1775, the Sisters spread across Ireland and beyond in response to the many needs. These new missions led to the growth of separate Presentation Congregations around the world.   



Sisters from the North East Province live in the following counties:

Armagh, Antrim,  Carlow, Clare, Dublin, Galway, Kildare, Kilkenny, Laois, Limerick, Louth, Offaly, Tipperary, Tyrone, Waterford, Westmeath, Wexford.

The Provincialate is in Dublin, Ireland. Contact email secretary@presprone.com

For more information on our Ireland North East provionce visit their website: www.presentationsistersne.ie